Lettre d'information

Édouard Elias

Chapeau

Freelance photographer Édouard Elias has covered major events including the Syrian civil war in 2012 and those in the Central African Republic in 2014. His photographs were recently exhibited at the French Army Museum. For the past several months, he has been reporting the trench war in Ukraine.

Édouard Elias
Texte

How at the age of 21 does one decide to venture off to photograph the war in Syria? Did you have a special interest in conflict zones?

It’s partly due to my family background. I grew up in Egypt and France. After my parents died, I was brought up by my grandparents. My grandfather was in the military - he was a maquisard in Creuse in 1941 and then a soldier in Indochina and in Algeria. I was fascinated by his stories, what he experienced, his capacity to exceed his own limits and the profound respect he had in the commitment of the combatant even to the point of thinking about it from the enemy’s point of view. I think this has had quite an influence on the way I work in the sense that I take care to avoid making uninformed judgements.

When I was 19, I gave up business studies and enrolled in photography school. When I was doing my end-of-year work placement, I went to Turkey to visit the Syrian refugee camps. I had no intention of going to Syria. But once I was there, I met various people and those encounters finally led me to Aleppo. That was back in 2012.

 

And after Syria, the Central African Republic. The photos you took over there were shown in the exhibition Dans la peau dun soldat” (In a soldiers skin) at the French Army Museum. How did that make you feel?

What moved me was this thread woven through the generations, between my grandfather, his history, and the legionnaires today. When you are in the Central African Republic (CAR), everyone talks to you about the Foreign Parachute Regiment (REP) whereas here nobody really knows about it. Also, showing photos of legionnaires, who will survive them and survive me, at the Invalides, at the very place where they pay tribute to soldiers who have fallen for France, is to honour them.

This exhibition felt like a point of pride and not to mention also a small victory. My intention was to take photos of these men going about their daily routine, in moments of waiting, doubt, occasionally in pain. Because the life of a soldier is not just about pride, honour, glory.

The greatest strength of anyone leaving for a war zone, whether they are a soldier or not, is what they are prepared to give to achieve their aim. I really got to love these guys with whom I developed a relationship based on trust. Too, there are certain photos that I chose not to publish.

 

You were very young...

I was 23, not all that young really. Yes, if you compare me to the old fighters with 50 years of service, but today all those considered war reporters, even though I’m not that keen on the term, like Patrick Chauvel, for example, started out aged 17-18.

 

 If you dont like the term war reporter, how would you describe yourself?

I’m really a photographer. More a photographer than “photojournalist” as some might like to label me. I tell stories through photography. I’m interested in form because it makes sense. Each report calls for a distinct approach which is determined by the choice of camera, the frame, if you take it in colour or black and white, if the image is posed or not, if its texture has grain or not...

Plus, I don’t only work in conflict situations, even if am more naturally drawn to combat zones. I also work for the press such as Gala in France and VSD, who can send me to report in these war zones or to cover another subject. I rarely do portraits, but as for the rest I handle a wide variety of commissions. The money I earn from short-term assignments funds my trips abroad that demand more time. Because editorial offices are more reticent to send journalists, whole teams and above all photographers to cover a conflict unless its major news. Regarding the CAR, for example, nobody would send me, so I offered to do it as I wanted to go. Through a friend, Didier François, who acted as my guarantor, I made contact with the French delegation for defence information and communication (DICoD) who trusted me and let me go without a real commission. Plus, I’d just been released from prison three months earlier which didn't seem to worry them. Once I was there, I decided not to send any photos. I didn’t publish anything.

When you’re in the field, the way you work changes depending on the media channel you're working for. For example, with the AFP, I had to send my photos within 48 hours max. That’s what I did in Syria. I’d gone over with a friend Olivier Voisin who also worked with the AFP. At that time, many documentary channels like those on the BBC network were sent images already edited while people were ignorant to the reality of the field, which distorted the analysis conducted by the editorial offices and skewed public opinion in Europe. Everyone thought the rebels were on their way to winning the war—it was the media that presented the idea of a rebel victory—because they had conquered 70% of the territory but this wasn’t what was really happening. On the ground, fewer offensives were being led and movement had stabilised in Aleppo since July 2012. They were heading to attrition warfare while the editorial offices believed they were still in a manoeuvre war. Neither were they interested in the photo reports we were producing with my mate Olivier of kids ferrying munitions to the front line. They wanted images of warfare.

After that, we were split up from Olivier, I went west and he headed east. We both got to photograph fighting but he was killed. After that, I wanted to stop sending images directly from the field. Because I felt I didn’t have the right to be there nor the necessary objectivity to do a good job. I preferred to take my time, meet people, earn their trust and send my report after. Which is what I started to do in the CAR. It’s important to explain the context of my situation.

In the CAR, my plan was to go for a longer period (a month plus travel time) and ask for an advanced outpost. They told me “it will be with the Foreign Legion”, the 2nd Foreign Infantry Regiment (REI). I then found out that it was regiment based in Nîmes, the town where I was born! I grew up in Uzès. I gathered some material on them with my pals from the ECPAD. I didn’t know anything apart from the myths you hear about the Legion. So I headed to the Central African Republic with some food provisions. I was met by the communications officer on site, a real tough character, the only woman on a base of 200 legionnaires. She gave me tons of advice so I could go about my work and made things so much easier for me. I established a genuine relationship of trust with her.

 

ECPAD photographers were there with you too... Was their relationship with the troops different from yours?

Of course. They had a different rapport, they were in the military. That makes a huge difference.

 

So things werent a given for you. Did you have to earn the legionnaires’ trust?

It was a gradual process. When I first got there, I had long hair and introduced myself as a ‘photographer-stroke-journalist’. You can see why they might have been slightly reticent: I was bound to ask loads of questions and be the ‘dead weight’ in the field (I wasn’t armed). As a matter of act I didn't ask any questions, I would simply stay silent and observe them. Then I started going out on all the patrols with them and, little by little, they ended up getting used to my presence and accepting me. Of course, there was some tension at the beginning but relationships were formed and I become part of the group. Which meant I could take any photo I wanted. Almost to the point of them asking me questions about my personal life. From my side, I tried to annoy them as little as possible and adapt to them. The respect was entirely mutual.

 

Are you still in contact with them?

Four months later, when the report was published in the LObs [French weekly news magazine], the army military command felt that showing the legionnaires through a human lens was detrimental to their image as soldiers, before the piece managed to change their minds, as it did the troops in the 2nd FIR. I printed copies for them which they hung up in the corridors. They then invited me up for Christmas with them in 2014. The first time a journalist had spent Christmas with them.

In 2015, I asked the commanding officer if I could take photos of the legionnaires in training in Nîmes. He said yes and invited me to observe them in training for a month. I lost eight kilos. I took part in all the training exercises, with the exception of weapons training, which gave me the opportunity to continue my report and forge even stronger ties with them.

Military photographers take a different approach: they know the field, they respect the chain of command. Plus the legionnaires felt they were performing a communications exercise. The photos they took were delivered to the army and they never got to see them.

 

So if youre not there as a communications exercise, what is your goal? To inform? Document?

I produce a record without any analysis. What I show isn't the conflict in the CAR; I share what 15 legionnaires experienced over a month. I don't speculate and I don’t hold a position: I will never say who the protagonists in this war are. I simply present the living conditions of the people I lived with day in, day out. It's just a tiny slice of the entire operation.

 

Its also a way of paying tribute to them.

Certainly. I’m not there to defend France’s deployment. You can love your country without agreeing with their decisions. What I’m interested in is why these people are fighting, who are they? What are they prepared to risk for their career, their passion, their hope?

 

But you are also taking risks to document all this...

In general us journalists take less risks. We are slightly in the background, less exposed than a soldier. Admittedly we go to the same zones but often with troops who are less mobile. It's less risky. For example, we are strictly prohibited from following special forces into the field. That's not our place. With the exception of Syria where there was a lot of confusion, we don’t go where the troops are at their strongest, unless you've integrated the patrol which has been engaged. Sometimes, however, you surprise yourself by almost wanting to be in the patrol which will be engaged. You’re half expecting it to happen even if we have a tendency to be a bit cynical. You can get to a place and think “so, is it being bombed or what?” In Ukraine, for example, at one point I felt frustrated because there was less bombing... You build relationships with the troops, you start to share their expectations, their feelings.

 

Did your experiences in Syria ever prompt you to question your choice of career?

Quite the opposite in fact. Precisely because I never regretted one second going there, I’m still doing what I do. But differently. Lots of people think that... and that’s exactly why I never give interviews about it. I don't have any problem speaking about the details and the conditions of my incarceration. It was a life experience, an occupational hazard but one that doesn't define me, I try to continue my work and push that to the back of my mind. I worked like a crazy person.

 

So after the CAR, do you have any more plans to report on overseas operations?

Yes, but I still want to observe the rank and file, not the special forces. What I’m interested in are the faces of the soldiers and to take photos of their everyday lives. What I’ve done with other armies, I’m doing with the Ukrainians.

 

Is that one of your future reporting projects?

Currently, I’m working on a big project in Ukraine. I’ve already been over several time, but this time I’m going to take photos of both sides of the Russian front. I’ve decided to go with black and white film! Again, it’s not the conflict itself I’m interested in but the troops and the trench war.

 

Have you noticed any similarities between this experience and your experience with the troops in CAR? I mean in terms of camaraderie, sharing these intimate moments, the waiting as you mentioned before?

I didn't manage to capture it on camera, but yes. With the difference that these men are far more exhausted, they’ve been there for a year and a half, and they know that on the other side are friends and relatives. There are even cases where the father is stationed on the Russian front and the son has been enlisted to the Ukrainian side. It’s not the same context at all.

It’s a desolate no man’s land…  it’s quite traumatising. My goal is to document their living conditions as this is an attrition war and the men are living deep in the trenches. My work in Ukraine is to show all that: the destruction, the fatigue of the troops, monuments to glory in the patriotic age. We have literally been plunged into an ideological war with pro-Europeans on the one side fighting pro-Russians on the other all accusing one another of being neo-Bolsheviks and neo-Nazis. And the references go back to the First World War and the Second World War. The monuments are crazy... Opposite statues to the glory of the USSR and at the same time what the USSR subjected them to. It’s mental!

There are still lots more reports to do in this region. But I also want to go to Abkhazia. To learn more about the concept of ‘frozen conflict’.

For each assignment, the aim is to take photos in an alternative way, depending on the subject. Our tool needs to do justice to the subject. Of course, I will add colour but for this report I wanted to test out this technique, a more traditional approach to photography. My cameras weigh five kilos each... you get four photos per film, it’s indescribable torture. But if they managed to do it before, why can’t I?

 

Have you ever taken an interest in reporters who covered much earlier conflicts? Do you have any role models?

I don’t necessarily know the names but I know the photos. I tend to know better the Christopher Griffiths or Don McCullins of this world than the military photojournalists who generally never publish their photos or at least don’t turn them into publications. There are very few books by military reporters.

 

You also went to Italy recently.

Yes, two months ago for Amnesty International following refugees as they travelled across Italy. Before that I headed out on the Aquarius, the boat collecting refugees from the middle of the Mediterranean. I’m in the process of putting together a coffee table book on the subject. There are so many interesting reports to do that I don’t stop to focus on one particular subject.

 

As a freelancer, have you ever come against certain limits?

Now, for example, I’m going to Ukraine, on the Russian side, with a photographer from LHumanité [French daily newspaper] which gets me the necessary accreditations. But I prefer to freelance so I have absolute control over my photos. However, you always run into obstacles.

When I left for CAR, the French army was my main constraint. But I always manage my subject according to the limits put before me. They are never a problem if you know what they are and you respect them. Also, you can always take photos and not publish them. That’s also what I love about photography. I could never write a text or perform an analysis.

 

But your photos are there for everyone to analyse and interpret in their own way...

That’s true. The aim is to pose a question without casting judgement or taking a position: for example, I’m not saying what the Russians are doing is good or bad. And I’m aware that my images could be used with deliberate intent...

 

But you have the freedom to accept these publications or not...

That’s exactly it. I do have this freedom. I have absolute faith in the Army Museum, for instance.

Interview on 31 January 2018


Auteur
La rédaction

Articles of the review

Édouard Elias

Photographe indépendant, Édouard Elias a notamment couvert les conflits en Syrie en 2012 et en République centrafricaine en 2014. Ses clichés ont été exposés récemment au musée de l’Armée. Depuis quelques mois, il se consacre à la guerre de tranchées en Ukraine.

Édouard Elias
Édouard Elias - © Hélène Pambrun

Comment décide-t-on à 21 ans de partir photographier la guerre en Syrie ? Aviez-vous un intérêt particulier pour les zones de conflits ?

 

C’est lié en partie à mon histoire familiale. J’ai grandi entre l’Égypte et la France. Ayant perdu mes parents, ce sont mes grands-parents qui m’ont élevé. Mon grand-père était militaire – il a été maquisard dans la Creuse en 1941, puis soldat en Indochine et en Algérie. J’étais fasciné par ses histoires, par ce qu’il avait vécu, par sa capacité à se dépasser soi-même et par le profond respect qu’il avait de l’engagement  du combattant  jusqu’à considérer celui de son ennemi. Je pense que cela a pas mal influencé ma façon de travailler, en prenant soin de ne pas porter de jugement a priori.

 

À 19 ans, après avoir abandonné des études de commerce, j’ai intégré une école de photographie. Alors que j’effectuais un stage de fin d’année, je suis parti en Turquie rejoindre les camps de réfugiés syriens. Je n’avais pas l’intention d’aller en Syrie. Mais sur place, les diverses rencontres m’ont finalement emmené à Alep… C’était en 2012.

 

Après la Syrie, la République centrafricaine. Vos clichés, pris là-bas, ont été présentés dans  l’exposition "Dans la peau d’un soldat" au musée de l’Armée. Qu’avez-vous alors ressenti ?

 

Ce qui m’a ému, c’est cette filiation qui s’établit entre générations, entre mon grand-père, son histoire, et les légionnaires aujourd’hui. Quand vous êtes en Centrafrique (RCA), tout le monde vous parle du régiment étranger de parachutistes (REP) alors qu’ici, personne ne le connaît vraiment. Aussi, présenter  des photos de légionnaires, qui  leur survivront et me survivront, aux Invalides – sur le lieu-même où on rend hommage aux militaires morts pour la France –, c’est leur faire honneur.

 

Avec cette exposition, j’ai ressenti une forme de fierté et puis, c’était aussi une petite victoire. Mon intention était de photographier ces hommes dans les gestes du quotidien, dans les moments d’attente, de doute, un peu dans la douleur. Parce que la vie d’un soldat, ce n’est pas uniquement la fierté,  l’honneur, la gloire…

 

La plus grande force de celui qui part dans une zone de combats, qu’il soit militaire ou pas, c’est ce qu’il est prêt à donner pour atteindre son but. J’ai vraiment aimé ces gars-là avec lesquels j’ai établi des relations de confiance. Aussi, il y a certaines photos que j’ai décidé de ne pas publier.

 

Vous étiez très jeune…

 

J’avais 23 ans, un âge pas si jeune que cela. Bien sûr comparé aux vieux baroudeurs qui ont 50 ans de carrière mais aujourd’hui, tous ceux qui sont considérés comme reporters de guerre, bien que je n’aime pas trop le terme, comme Patrick Chauvel par exemple, ont débuté à 17-18 ans.

 

Vous n’aimez pas le terme "reporter de guerre", comment vous définiriez-vous alors ?

 

Je suis vraiment photographe. Plus photographe que "photo-journaliste" comme certains aimeraient à me définir. Je raconte des histoires par la photographie. La forme m’intéresse car elle fait sens. Chaque reportage nécessite une approche particulière : déterminée par le choix de l’appareil photo, du cadre, de la couleur ou du noir et blanc, de l’image posée ou non, de son rendu avec du grain ou pas …

 

Et puis, je ne traite pas uniquement de conflit même si je me suis orienté plus naturellement vers des zones de combats ; je travaille aussi pour la presse comme Gala en France et VSD, qui peut m’envoyer en reportage sur ces mêmes zones ou pour un tout autre sujet. Je réalise peu de portraits mais pour le reste je réponds à des commandes très différentes. L’argent que je gagne avec ces reportages de courte durée me permet de financer mes déplacements à l’étranger qui nécessitent plus de temps. Car les rédactions sont plus réticentes à envoyer des journalistes, des équipes et notamment des photographes pour couvrir un conflit ou alors il faut qu’il y ait une actualité brûlante. Pour la RCA par exemple, personne ne voulait m’y envoyer, aussi je l’ai proposée car j’avais envie de le faire. Par l’intermédiaire d’un ami, Didier François, qui s’est porté garant, je suis entré en contact avec la Délégation à l’Information et à la communication de Défense (DICoD) qui m’a fait confiance et m’a laissé partir sans réelle commande. De plus, je sortais de détention depuis trois mois et ça ne les a pas effrayés. Une fois là-bas, j’ai décidé de ne pas envoyer de photos, je n’ai rien publié.

 

Une fois qu’on est sur le terrain, la façon de travailler diffère selon le média pour lequel on travaille. Par exemple, pour l’AFP, j’aurais dû envoyer mes photos au plus tard dans les 48h. C’est ce que je réalisais en Syrie. J’étais parti avec un ami, Olivier Voisin, qui travaillait également pour l’AFP. À l’époque, de nombreux documentaires de chaînes comme ceux de la BBC, étaient envoyés avec des images déjà montées, alors qu’il y avait une méconnaissance de la réalité du terrain, ce qui a faussé les analyses des rédactions et trompé les opinions publiques en Europe. On pensait que les rebelles étaient en train de gagner la guerre - les médias avançaient l’idée d’une victoire rebelle  -, parce qu’ils avaient conquis 70% du territoire mais ce n’était pas le cas. Sur le terrain, il y avait moins d’offensives - les mouvements s’étaient stabilisés à Alep à partir de juillet 2012. On s’orientait vers une guerre de position mais les rédactions pensaient qu’on était encore dans une guerre de mouvement. Aussi, les reportages photos, que nous faisions avec mon ami Olivier, de gamins qui apportaient des munitions sur les lignes de front ne les intéressaient pas. Elles voulaient des images de combats.

 

Ensuite, nous nous sommes séparés avec Olivier, je suis parti à l’ouest et lui en zone est. Nous avons tous deux photographié des combats mais lui a été tué. Après cela, je ne voulais plus envoyer d’images directement depuis le terrain. Parce que j’avais l’impression de n’avoir ni la légitimité ni le recul nécessaire pour bien faire mon travail. Je préfère prendre mon temps, rencontrer les gens, gagner leur confiance, et envoyer mon reportage après. C’est ce que j’ai commencé à faire en Centrafrique. Il était important de vous expliquer le contexte.

 

Pour la RCA, l’idée était de partir sur une plus longue période (un mois avec les temps de transport) et de demander un poste avancé. On m’a répondu "ce sera la Légion étrangère", le 2e REI. Je découvre alors qu’il s’agit d’un régiment basé à Nîmes, ma ville natale ! J’ai grandi à Uzès. Je me suis un peu documenté avec les copains de l’ECPAD. Je connaissais seulement le mythe de la Légion. J’ai débarqué en Centrafrique avec quelques provisions de nourriture. J’ai été pris en charge par l’officier de communication sur place, une sacrée personnalité au caractère bien trempé, la seule femme sur cette base avec 200 légionnaires. Elle m’a beaucoup conseillé pour que je puisse faire mon travail et m’a vraiment facilité la tâche. J’ai établi une vraie relation de confiance avec elle.

 

Des photographes de l’ECPAD étaient sur place… Leur rapport était-il différent avec les soldats ?

 

Bien entendu. Ils avaient un rapport différent, ce sont des militaires. Ça change tout.

 

Pour vous, cela n’allait pas de soi, avez-vous dû gagner la confiance des légionnaires ?

 

Cela s’est fait progressivement. À mon arrivée là-bas, j’avais les cheveux longs et je me suis présenté comme "photographe/journaliste". On peut comprendre qu’ils aient été réticents : j’étais celui qui pose des questions et qui va être un "poids mort" sur le terrain (je ne suis pas armé). En fait, je n’ai posé aucune question, je les ai observés longtemps en silence. Puis, j’ai effectué toutes les patrouilles avec eux et, peu à peu, ils ont fini par s’habituer à ma présence et m’accepter. Certes, il y a eu quelques tensions au début mais des liens se sont créés et j’ai fait partie du groupe. J’ai pu prendre alors toutes les photos que je voulais. Ils étaient presque à me questionner sur mon histoire personnelle. De mon côté, j’essayais de les gêner le moins possible en veillant à m’adapter. Il y a eu un vrai respect mutuel.

 

Avez-vous encore des contacts avec eux ?

 

Quatre mois après, quand le reportage a été publié dans l’Obs, l’état-major des armées a d’abord considéré que présenter les légionnaires sous l’angle humain desservait leur image de soldat, avant d’être convaincu par ce reportage, tout comme le 2e REI. Je leur ai fait des tirages qu’ils ont affichés dans les couloirs. Ils m’ont alors invité à les rejoindre pour le Noël 2014. C’était la première fois qu’un journaliste partageait un noël avec eux.

 

En 2015, j’ai demandé au chef de corps à photographier la formation des légionnaires à Nîmes. Il a accepté et m’a proposé de suivre la formation avec eux pendant un mois. J’ai perdu 8 kilos… J’ai participé à tous les entraînements en dehors de l’armement, ce qui m’a permis de continuer mon reportage et de maintenir des liens d’autant plus forts.

 

Les photographes militaires sont dans une autre approche : ils connaissent le terrain, respectent les grades. D’ailleurs, les légionnaires estimaient qu’ils faisaient de la communication. Les photos prises partaient à l’armée et eux ne les voyaient jamais.

 

Et vous si ce n’est de la communication, quel est votre but ? Informer, témoigner ?

 

J’apporte un témoignage sans aucune analyse. Ce que je montre ce n’est pas le conflit en Centrafrique ; je raconte ce que 15 légionnaires ont vécu pendant un mois. Je ne me livre à aucune spéculation et ne prends pas position : je ne vous dirai jamais qui sont les protagonistes de cette guerre. Je montre seulement les conditions de vie de ceux avec qui j’ai partagé le quotidien. Et ce n’est qu’une infime vision de toute l’opération.

 

C’est aussi une manière de leur rendre hommage ?

 

Bien sûr. Ma position n’est pas de défendre l’engagement de la France. On peut aimer son pays sans partager les décisions qui sont prises. Ce qui m’intéresse, c’est pourquoi ces hommes combattent, qui sont-ils ? Que sont-ils prêts à risquer pour leur métier, leur passion, leur espoir ?

 

Et vous-même, vous prenez des risques pour témoigner de cela…

 

En général, nous, journalistes, prenons moins de risques. On est moins exposé qu’un militaire, légèrement en retrait. Certes, on va sur les mêmes zones mais souvent avec des troupes qui bougent peu. C’est moins risqué. Par exemple, il nous est impossible de suivre les forces spéciales sur le terrain. Ce n’est pas notre place. Excepté en Syrie où c’était la pagaille, on n’est pas là où les combats sont les plus forts, à moins d’avoir intégré la patrouille qui s’est faite accrochée. Parfois cependant, on se surprend presqu’à vouloir faire partie de la patrouille qui va se faire accrocher. On est dans cette attente même si c’est un peu cynique de notre part. On arrive dans un endroit en se disant "bon, ça bombarde ou pas ?". En Ukraine par exemple, il m’est arrivé d’être en colère parce que ça bombardait moins… on crée des liens avec les militaires, on partage leurs attentes, leurs sentiments.

 

Ce que vous avez vécu en Syrie ne vous a jamais fait douter de ce choix de carrière ?

 

Justement, comme je n’ai pas regretté tant que j’étais là-bas, je continue à faire ce métier. Différemment. Beaucoup de gens imaginent que…  et d’ailleurs c’est pour cela que je ne réalise aucune interview sur ce sujet. Je n’ai aucun problème à raconter les détails et les conditions de ma détention. C’est une expérience de vie, un accident de travail mais ce n’est pas ce qui me caractérise. J’essaie de continuer à travailler et de me faire oublier avec cela. J’ai travaillé comme un fou.

 

Et après la RCA, vous envisagez d’autres reportages en OPEX ?

 

Oui, mais je souhaite toujours suivre des hommes du rang, pas les forces spéciales. Ce qui m’intéresse, ce sont les visages des soldats et photographier leur vie quotidienne. Ce que j’ai réalisé avec d’autres armées, je le fais avec les Ukrainiens.

 

Ça fait partie des futurs projets de reportages ?

 

Actuellement, je suis sur un gros projet en Ukraine. J’y suis déjà allé à plusieurs reprises mais cette fois-ci, je pars photographier les deux côtés sur le front russe. Et j’ai choisi de la pellicule en noir et blanc ! Là aussi, ce n’est pas le conflit en tant que tel qui m’intéresse mais les soldats et la guerre de tranchées.

 

Avez-vous ressenti des choses similaires entre cette expérience et celle vécue avec  les soldats en RCA ? Sur les liens de camaraderie, le partage de l’intimité, l’attente…. évoqués précédemment ?

 

Je n’ai pas réussi à le photographier mais oui. À la différence que les hommes sont beaucoup plus épuisés, qu’ils sont là depuis un an et demi et qu’ils savent que de l’autre côté, il y a leurs amis, leurs parents. Il arrive même que le père soit engagé sur le front russe, et que le fils, de par la conscription, se retrouve du côté ukrainien. Ce n’est pas du tout le même contexte.

 

C’est un no man’s land désolé…  c’est assez éprouvant. L’enjeu est de témoigner de leurs conditions de vie car c’est une guerre de position et les hommes vivent terrés dans des tranchées. Mon travail en Ukraine c’est montrer cela : les destructions, la fatigue des combattants, des monuments à la gloire de l’ère patriotique. On est littéralement plongé dans une guerre idéologique avec des pro-Européens qui se battent contre des pro-Russes et qui s’accusent mutuellement de néo-bolcheviks et de néo-nazis. Et les références partent vraiment vers la Première Guerre mondiale et la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Les monuments sont dingues… se font face des statues à la gloire de l’URSS et en même temps ce que l’URSS leur a fait subir. C’est dingue !

 

Il y aurait encore beaucoup de reportages à faire dans cette région. Mais, j’ai envie aussi d’aller en Abkhazie. De m’intéresser à la notion de "guerre gelée".

 

À chaque fois, le but est de photographier d’une manière différente, en fonction du sujet. L’outil à notre disposition doit servir le sujet. Bien sûr, je referai de la couleur mais pour ce reportage-là, je voulais m’essayer à cette technique, une approche plus ancienne de la photographie. Mes appareils pèsent 5 kilos chacun… c’est 4 photos par pellicule, c’est une galère sans nom. Mais s’ils le faisaient avant, pourquoi je n’y arriverai pas ?

 

Est-ce que vous vous intéressez aux reporters qui ont couvert des conflits plus anciens ? Vous avez des modèles dans ce milieu ?

 

Je ne connais pas forcément les noms mais je connais les photos. Après, je connais plus les Christopher Griffith, Don Mc Cullin que les photojournalistes militaires qui généralement ne publient pas leurs photos ou tout du moins n’en font pas des ouvrages. Il y a très peu de livres de reporters militaires.

 

Vous êtes allé aussi récemment en Italie ?

 

Il y a deux mois pour Amnesty international, j’ai suivi des réfugiés qui traversent l’Italie. Précédemment, j’étais parti sur l’Aquarius, le bateau qui récupérait les réfugiés au milieu de la Méditerranée. Je suis en train de préparer un livre d’art sur ce sujet. Il y a tellement de reportages intéressants que je ne m’arrête pas à un sujet en particulier.

 

Mais en tant qu’indépendant, vous vous confrontez aussi à certaines limites ?

 

Là, par exemple, je pars en Ukraine, côté russe, avec un photographe de l’Humanité, ce qui me permet d’avoir mes accréditations. Mais je préfère être indépendant afin d’être entièrement maître de mes photos. Cependant, on est toujours confronté à des obstacles.

 

Quand je suis parti en RCA, la contrainte c’était l’armée française. Mais j’oriente toujours mon sujet en fonction des limites qu’on me donne. Celles-ci ne sont pas un problème si on les connaît et si on les respecte. Par ailleurs, on peut toujours faire des photos sans les publier. C’est ça aussi que j’aime dans la photo. Rédiger un texte, proposer une analyse, je ne pourrai pas.

 

Mais vos photos sont soumises à l’analyse et à l’interprétation de chacun…

 

C’est vrai... Le but c’est de créer un questionnement sans porter de jugement de valeur ni prendre position : par exemple, je ne dis pas si ce que font les Russes est bien ou mal… Et je suis conscient que mes images peuvent être utilisées à dessein…

 

Mais vous avez la liberté d’accepter ou non ces publications…

 

Voilà. J’ai cette liberté. Pour le musée de l’Armée par exemple, j’avais une entière confiance.

 

Propos recueillis le 31 janvier 2018

La rédaction