Gravelines

Share:

The Gravelines fortifications and the museum of drawing and original printmaking

 

A garrison town until 1902, Gravelines was a strategic location, since it was the first Flemish town on the coastal border which separated the Kingdom of France from the County of Flanders, incorporated into the Netherlands under Charles V before being, during the ‘Grand Siècle’, the first fortified town in the interior line of the royal pré carré (the ‘square field’, an area of northern France enclosed within two parallel lines of fortresses). Of this strategic position, we are left with 10 km of surrounding walls (classified as historical monuments) and glacis; 3 km from Emperor Charles V (essentially the curtain walls and bastions); 3.6 km from Vauban (ravelins and counterguards), all surrounded by 4 km of glacis and the same of moats.
 
 
Alongside these passive elements were constructions whose aim was to strengthen the ramparts. These include magazine powders, bunkers, guardrooms and other strategic buildings.
  • A canal in Gravelines.

    A canal in Gravelines. Source: SGA/DMPA

  • Gravelines

    Gravelines. Source: SGA/DMPA

  • Aerial view of the city of Gravelines.

    Aerial view of the city of Gravelines. Source: Photo by François Hanscotte

Source: MINDEF/SGA/DMPA Northern territory

 

The master piece of these installations was what the people of Gravelines called the Arsenal.
 
In fact, it was a collection of military buildings storing the weapons and ammunition as well as the tanks, bunkers (underground vaulted rooms used as protection from bombs) and a bread oven, dating from 1693 and in perfect condition. Today, these military buildings are open to the public in various forms.
The main powder magazine dating from 1742, flanking the centre of the Arsenal, today houses the Museum of Drawing and Original Printmaking, which has also taken up a few bunkers to increase the number of works on display to the public. The bread oven, installed in a bunker built sometime after 1528, is managed by the museum and can be freely accessed.
 
 
The soldiers tasked with surveillance were posted in the six guardrooms close to the bastions. Four of the six (Porte aux Boules, Rue de Dunkerque, Bastion du Moulin, Place de l'Esplanade) will undergo renovations. The newly acquired powder magazine located close to the Bastion du Roy will be used to create a cultural and educational trail of the guardrooms and other powder magazines, which will follow the fortifications around the city. Believing that having an army living in boarding houses was not the ideal situation for the civil population, Louis XIV asked de Louvois and Vauban to look into the possibility of building barracks for the soldiers. The plans went ahead and Gravelines was the site of Vauban-style barracks.
 
The Caserne Varennes (1737) which could house some 576 men of the rank and file (four cells of 144 beds) is impressively large (80 metres in length over three floors) with a facade that gives on to the Place de l'Esplanade, once used as a parade ground. At one time used as housing for the soldiers and a hospital during the First World War, and more recently social housing, the Caserne Varennes will be refurbished into eco-friendly housing. The Caserne d'Huxelles (75 metres long), built between 1793 and 1824 from a collection of blockhouses, was used as a resting place for soldiers forced to withdraw from the Caserne Varennes in the event of artillery fire. Employed as stables during the Third Republic, it will accommodate – after being refurbished – the Museum of Drawing and Original Printmaking, currently housed in the Arsenal powder magazine.
 
 
Between the two barrack buildings stands a tank with a volume of 1,420,000 litres, intended to provide the military and then the civil population with drinking water until 1945. Now empty and restored, it will be integrated into the museum.
 
The Porte de Dunkerque (listed), also known as the Porte aux Boules, has been restored and redeveloped into a pedestrian leisure area.
Water has been returned and the area developed to welcome boats and pedalos for visitors to take a tour – guided if they so wish – around the fortifications offering an alternative approach to the city’s defences. To this end, the ravalins and counterguards have also been renovated and the waterways and walkways restored. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Les Rives de l'Aa Tourist Office
 
11, rue de la République B.P. 139 - 59820 Gravelines - France
 
Tel: +33 (0)3 28 51 94 00
 
Fax: +33 (0)3 28 65 58 19
 
 
 
Hôtel de Ville
 
Place Charles Valentin - 59820 Gravelines - France
 
Tel: +33 (0)3 28 23 59 00
 
 
 
Individual and group guided tours:
 
Maison du Patrimoine 2, rue Léon Blum - 59820 Gravelines - France
 
Tel: 03.28.65.45.45
 
Fax: 03.28.65.58.19
 
 
 
Museum of Drawing and Original Printmaking
 
Tel: +33 (0)3 28 51 81 00
 
Fax: +33 (0)3 28 51 81 01
 
 
 
Events Regional Fortified Towns Day, last Sunday of April. Le Pardon des Marins (religious ceremony to bless boats before a long voyage), 15 August National Heritage Days, third weekend in September
 

Website of the regional tourism board for the Nord

 

 

Share:

Gravelines

Partager :

Les fortifications de Gravelines, et le musée du dessin et de l'estampe originale.

Ville de garnison jusqu'en 1902, Gravelines était une ville stratégique puisqu'elle était la première ville flamande de la frontière littorale qui séparait le Royaume de France du Comté de Flandre intégré aux Pays-Bas de Charles-Quint avant d'être, durant le Grand Siècle, la première place forte de la ligne intérieure du Pré Carré royal. De cette incidence stratégique, nous sont restés quelques 10 km de murs d'enceintes (classés monuments historiques) et de glacis; 3 km viennent de l'Empereur Charles-Quint (essentiellement les courtines et les bastions); 3,6 km de Vauban (les demi-lunes et les contre gardes.), le tout ceinturé par 4 km de glacis et autant de fossés en eau.

 

A côté de ces éléments dormants, se trouvent des constructions visant à renforcer les remparts. On compte parmi elles, des poudrières, des casemates, des corps de garde et autres bâtiments logistiques.

 

 

  • Un des canaux de Gravelines.

    Un des canaux de Gravelines.
    Source : SGA/DMPA

  • Gravelines

    Gravelines. Source : SGA/DMPA

  • Vue aérienne de la cité de Gravelines

    Vue aérienne de la cité de Gravelines. Source : Photo François Hanscotte

Source : MINDEF/SGA/DMPA Territoire Nord

La pièce maîtresse de ces installations est ce que les Gravelinois appellent l'Arsenal.

En fait, il s'agit d'un ensemble d'installations militaires renfermant des armes et des munitions ainsi que des citernes, des casemates (salles souterraines voûtées visant à se protéger des bombes) et un four à pain, datant de 1693 et conservé en état. Ces bâtiments à vocation militaire sont aujourd'hui ouverts au public sous différentes formes.
La grande poudrière de 1742, flanquée au milieu de l'Arsenal, abrite aujourd'hui le musée du Dessin et de l'Estampe Originale qui utilise aussi quelques casemates lui permettant d'augmenter le nombre d'oeuvres présentées au public. Le four à pain, implanté dans une casemate construite à partir de 1528, géré par le musée est accessible librement.


Les militaires chargés de la surveillance étaient stationnés dans les six corps de garde flanqués près des bastions. Quatre d'entre eux (Porte aux Boules, rue de Dunkerque, bastion du Moulin, place de l'Esplanade) feront l'objet d'une réhabilitation. L'acquisition de la poudrière située près du bastion du Roy va permettre de créer un parcours culturel et pédagogique des corps de garde et poudrières, qui fera le tour de la cité le long des fortifications. Trouvant qu'il était peu agréable pour la population civile d'avoir un militaire en pension, Louis XIV a demandé à Monsieur de Louvois et à Vauban d'étudier la possibilité d'un casernement pour les soldats. Chose fut faite, et Gravelines fut dotée de casernes de type Vauban.

La Caserne Varennes (1737) qui pouvait accueillir quelques 576 hommes du rang (quatre cellules de 144 places) est imposante de par ses dimensions (80 m de long sur 3 étages) avec une façade dégagée sur la place de l'Esplanade qui servait autrefois de lieu d'exercice de parade. Jadis logements pour les soldats et hôpital pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, hier logements sociaux, la caserne Varennes fera l'objet d'une réhabilitation en logements à haute valeur ajoutée. La caserne d'Huxelles (75 m de long), quant à elle, construite de 1793 à 1824, sur la base d'un ensemble de casemates servait de lieu de repli aux militaires de la caserne Varennes en cas de menaces de tirs d'artilleries. Affectée comme écuries sous la IIIème république, elle doit accueillir - après réhabilitation - le Musée du Dessin et de l'Estampe Originale, logé actuellement dans la poudrière de l'Arsenal.

 


Entre les deux casernes, se dresse une citerne d'une contenance de 1 420 000 de litres, destinée à l'approvisionnement en eau potable des militaires puis de la population civile jusqu'en 1945. Aujourd'hui vide et restaurée, elle sera mise à disposition du musée.

La Porte de Dunkerque (classée), dite Porte aux Boules, a été réhabilitée et réaménagée en aire de promenade.
L'eau y a repris sa place et l'endroit a été aménagé afin d'y accueillir, barques et pédalos pour permettre une promenade - commentée ou non - autour des fortifications offrant ainsi une autre approche de la défense de la place. A ce titre, sont également réhabilitées les demi-lunes et les contre gardes, aménagés les circuits d'eau et chemins de balades.

 

 


Office du Tourisme des Rives de l'Aa

11, rue de la République B.P. 139 - 59820 Gravelines

Tél. : 03.28.51.94.00

Fax : 03.28.65.58.19

 

Hôtel de Ville

Place Charles Valentin - 59820 Gravelines

Tél. : 03.28.23.59.00

 

Visites guidées individuelles et groupes :

Maison du Patrimoine 2, rue Léon Blum - 59820 Gravelines

Tél. : 03.28.65.45.45

Fax : 03.28.65.58.19

 

Musée du Dessin et de l'Estampe Originale

Tél. : 03.28.51.81.00

Fax : 03.28.51.81.01

 

Manifestations Journée Régionales des Villes Fortifiées le dernier dimanche d'avril. Le pardon des marins le 15 août. Journées Nationales du Patrimoine le 3ème week-end de septembre

 

 

Site du comité régional du tourisme de la région Nord

 

Quizz : Forts et citadelles

Partager :