La période Vauban

Vauban
Corps 1
Long ago, a border was located from the plain of Flandres to the Mount de Jura, from porte de Bourgogne to cap d'Antibes, attaching to the crown of the French kings new provinces conquered in the east by the armies of Louis XIV (the Sun King). During the three following centuries the military and engineer generations competed to conceive along this border a succession of defences made of stones, concrete and stele, to guarantee the inviolability of these new "steps" of the french territory. First, general Commissioner for the fortifications and after Marshall of France, Vauban is the most famous among these generations. He is incontestably the intellectual guide of all the military architects who succeeded to him. His architectural works still decorates many of our landscapes.
Corps 2

The "bastioned frotification"



During many centuries the construction of very high walls was the most appropriate protection. But once the enemy achieved the bottom of the walls and hid himself in the blind spots where the projectiles of the defenders couldn't reach him it was difficult to eliminate him. To solve this problem called "flankation", flank towers were build. In the too rectilinear parts, Vauban doubles the fortified places. He builds enclosures following the discontinuous lines. Thus he give rise to the "bastioned fortification".

During the second half of the XVth century the metal cannonball replaces the stone ball. Heavier and harder this kind of ball give an effectiveness to the artillery, up to now never reached before. With that weapon it is from now on possible to shake and destroy the high walls of the castles and fortresses of the Middle Age. The objective is to stop the enemy as far as possible from the surrounding high walls; it is therefore requested to multiply the devices at the front, which will delay his progression. Between XVII and XVIII century, the bastioned fortification will adopt geometrical forms which will be increasingly sophisticated to adapt the chessboard construction to the new artillery performances.

Military architecture of the Sun King



When Vauban reaches the function of engineer of the young King Louis XIV, he is not older than 22 years. The "bastioned fortification" becomes an undeniable reference since the nomination of the count Blaise de Pegan to the position of general representative of the fortifications and since its codification by Jean Erard in 1594. Without much systematisation but while adapting more and more the ground and the relief, Vauban will attend this technique at its highest point of perfection: first of all he improves the defensive system of the existing fortified towns: he constructs a double surrounding high wall, in a pentagonal structure, connected by an underground gallery.

To prevent that once a bastion is taken, one side of the other two close bastions is not defended, Vauban separates the first high walls protecting the town from the second defence line, where he arranges cavalry batteries. He will reach the ultimate perfection with the third system. In Neuf-Brisach (in Alsace) he builds a city in an octagonal plan itself within the scope of a sort of star of 800m diameter, surrounding the "chess-board city".

In mixing his grate architectural talent with his qualities of town planner and military strategist, Vauban applies some principles which renew the aesthetic rigour and the requirement of the logistics, in the nine fortified towns that he created: a checkerboard plan in an octagonal enclosure allows a perfectly functional distribution of the public buildings and residences, grouped in a central square place, intended for the military operations and parades. The only parts of the town that will not be submitted by this rigour, will be the town gates. To the glory of the King, Vauban kept the sculptured decoration on the gates. With Marshal Vaubans death in 1707, its disciples, Jacques Stuart Berwick and Louis de Cormontaigne, named general representatives of the fortifications, will complete the works of their Master.

With the increasing progress of the artillery as far as the precision is concerned, Marc Montalembert, will surround the citadels of his predecessors with another safety enclosure. They are composed of detached forts, mutually flanking one another and this same forts flanked by protecting paths established in ditches. In the XIX century, the citadels of Vauban and his disciples still constitute the essential of the fortification system in the Eastern territory. Nevertheless their number is still insufficient, because between them there are still large unprotected gaps reached by the enemy.

For the invader who has at his disposal rifled canons these fortifications become more and more unsuited to stop him. This invention increases considerably the range and performances of the artillery weapons. Also Nicolas Benoit Haxo contributed to the construction of the fortifications of the country.

La période Vauban

 

De la plaine des Flandres aux monts du Jura, de la porte de Bourgogne au cap d'Antibes, courrait jadis une frontière, rattachant à la couronne des rois de France les nouvelles provinces conquises à l'Est par les armées de Louis XIV, le Roi Soleil.

Durant les trois siècles qui suivirent ce rattachement, des générations d'ingénieurs militaires rivalisèrent d'imagination pour concevoir et réaliser, le long de cette frontière, une succession de défenses de pierre, de béton et d'acier garantissant l'inviolabilité de ces nouvelles "marches" du territoire de France.

 

Commissaire général aux fortifications, puis maréchal de France, Vauban est le plus célèbre d'entre eux. Il est incontestablement le maître à penser de tous les architectes militaires qui lui ont succédé et dont les oeuvres architecturales ornent encore beaucoup de nos paysages.

 

La Fortification bastionnée

 

Pendant plusieurs siècles, la construction de hautes murailles est restée le système le plus adéquat pour se protéger. Mais une fois parvenus au pied des remparts, les assaillants sont difficiles à éliminer s'ils s'installent dans les angles morts où les projectiles des défenseurs ne peuvent les atteindre. Pour résoudre ce problème dit du "flanquement", on construit des tours "flanquantes" et on double les places fortes, au tracé trop rectiligne, d'une nouvelle enceinte suivant des lignes brisées. Ainsi naît la "fortification bastionnée".

 

Citadelle de Belle-Ile. Source : ECPAD

 


Dans la deuxième moitié du XVe siècle, le boulet métallique remplace le boulet de pierre. Plus lourd et plus dur que ce dernier, il donne à l'artillerie une efficacité jusqu'ici inégalée pour ébranler et percer les remparts des châteaux et forteresses du Moyen Age. Il faut donc arrêter l'assaillant le plus loin possible du mur d'enceinte, et pour cela multiplier à l'avant les dispositifs qui retarderont sa progression : demi-lunes,contre-gardes, tenailles et ouvrages à couronne ou à cornes font leur apparition. Aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles la fortification bastionnée adopte des formes géométriques de plus en plus sophistiquées pour adapter l'échiquier aux nouvelles performances des grosses pièces d'artillerie.

 

 

 

L'architecte militaire du Roi Soleil


Quand le marquis de Vauban accède à la fonction d'ingénieur du jeune roi Louis XIV, il n'a lui-même que 22 ans. La fortification bastionnée est une référence incontestée depuis sa codification par Jean Erard, en 1594, et la nomination du comte Blaise de Pagan au poste de commissaire général aux fortifications. Sans systématisation, mais en s'adaptant sans cesse au terrain et au relief, Vauban porte cette technique à son plus haut point de perfection : il améliore tout d'abord le système défensif des places fortes existantes par la construction d'une double enceinte de remparts, en forme pentagonale, reliée par une galerie souterraine.


Pour éviter qu'une fois un bastion pris, une face des deux bastions voisins ne soit plus défendue, il sépare les premiers remparts protégeant la ville de la deuxième ligne de défense où il aménage des batteries sur "cavaliers". Son perfectionnement ultime aboutira au troisième système, à Neuf-Brisach en Alsace où il construit, ex nihilo, une cité dans un plan octogonal lui-même inscrit dans une étoile de 800 m de diamètre, entourant une ville en damier.

 

Citadelle de Besançon. Vue de l'entrée de la citadelle à partir de la tour de la Reine. La tour du Roi se trouve à l'arrière-plan.. Photo Christophe.Finot. GNU Free Documentation License.



Mêlant ses talents de grand architecte à des qualités d'urbaniste et de stratège militaire, Vauban applique, dans les neuf places fortes qu'il crée de toutes pièces, des principes qui concilient la rigueur esthétique et les exigences de la logistique : un plan en damier dans une enceinte octogonale permet une distribution parfaitement fonctionnelle des bâtiments publics et des habitations groupées autour d'une place centrale carrée destinée aux manoeuvres et aux parades. Seules les portes de ville échappent à cette rigueur car Vauban tient à leur conserver un décor sculpté à la gloire du roi. A la mort du Maréchal Vauban, en 1707, ses disciples, Jacques Stuart Berwick et Louis de Cormontaigne, nommés comme lui commissaire général aux fortifications, achèveront l'oeuvre de leur maître.

 

Marc-René de Montalembert.Source : Tableau de Maurice Quentin de La Tour.



Face aux nouveaux progrès de l'artillerie dont la portée et la précision s'améliorent sans cesse, Marc Montalembert entoure les citadelles de ses prédécesseurs d'une nouvelle enceinte de sûreté , constituée de forts détachés se flanquant mutuellement et eux mêmes flanqués de caponnières, situées dans les fossés. Au XIXe siècle, les citadelles de Vauban et de ses disciples constituent encore l'essentiel du système de fortification des territoires de l'Est. Elles sont néanmoins toujours insuffisantes en nombre car elles laissent entre elles de vastes espaces non protégés où l'ennemi peut s'engouffrer.



Elles sont surtout de plus en plus inadaptées pour arrêter un envahisseur qui disposerait de canons à tube rayé, car cette nouvelle invention augmente considérablement la portée et les performances des pièces d'artillerie. La fortification du pays fut notamment poursuivie par François Nicolas Benoit Haxo.

 

 

 

sites internet externes :

Association Vauban     

Réseau des Sites Majeurs de Vauban

MINDEF/SGA/DMPA